89b00cc3 ash jaddu
Image Source - Twitter

Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin jointly awarded Player of the Series for outstanding performances

Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin have been honoured for their outstanding performances in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2023, sharing the Player of the Series title after the fourth Test ended in a tie.

During the just finished series, Ashwin took 25 wickets and scored 86 runs in five innings. Jadeja, on the other hand, took 22 wickets and finished as the equal second-highest wicket-taker with Nathan Lyon. Jadeja scored 135 runs in five innings. Both contributed to India’s 2-1 series victory and were honoured for their outstanding performances.

Jadeja, in particular, was exceptional on his comeback, winning two consecutive ‘Player of the Match’ accolades in the series’ opening two Test matches in Nagpur and Delhi. Jadeja took a fifer (5/47) in the first innings of the Nagpur Test and two more in the second. He was also crucial with the bat, scoring 70 runs to help India win by an innings and 132 runs.

Jadeja started up where he left off in Nagpur and put up another amazing performance in the second Test in Delhi. In the Delhi Test, he took 3/68 and 7/42 to help India win by six wickets. In addition, he scored 26 runs in the game.

While India lost the third Test by nine wickets, Jadeja did take four wickets in the first innings in the Indore Test. Ashwin, on the other hand, was crucial for Team India throughout the series. Ashwin surpassed Anil Kumble to become the player with the most Border-Gavaskar Trophy wickets.

In the history of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy series, Ashwin has 114 wickets, behind only Nathan Lyon, who has 116.