6ab3abe5 1648322336 ai 8245
Image Source - Twitter

IPL 2023 – The Kolkata Knight Riders’ Road to IPL 2023

The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 trading window officially concluded on November 15 at 5 PM, with franchises submitting their final list of retained players ahead of the December 23 auction in Kochi. Kolkata Knight Riders were among the franchises busy reworking their squad, making vital changes ahead of the forthcoming edition.

The Knight Riders traded in Lockie Ferguson and Rahmanullah Gurbaz from IPL 2022 champions Gujarat Titans, while also acquiring the services of India all-rounder Shardul Thakur from Delhi Capitals. However, they released Alex Hales due to personal reasons and national team commitments, joining Sam Billings and Pat Cummins in opting out of the upcoming season. The Kolkata franchise now has three overseas slots to fill from their purse in the auction, with INR 7.5 crore available.

In total, the side retained 11 players and traded in three, two from the Titans and one from the Delhi franchise. Kolkata Knight Riders had a disappointing season in 2022, finishing seventh in the points table. With the auction now concluded, the franchise will need to ideate plans and make proper use of their remaining resources.


IPL 2023 Mini-Auction performance

The Kolkata Knight Riders made significant moves during the IPL 2023 Mini Auction held in Kochi on December 23. The two-time champions were inconsistent in the previous season, failing to make it to the playoffs due to a lower net run rate.

With a budget of INR 7.05 crore and 11 available slots (eight for Indian players and three for overseas players), KKR released most of their players, including Pat Cummins, who made himself unavailable to focus on national duties, and Sam Billings, who withdrew from the auction. They also traded Shardul Thakur from the Delhi Capitals, Lockie Ferguson and Rahmanullah Gurbaz from the Gujarat Titans.

KKR started their auction with a bargain buy, securing promising batter Narayan Jagadeesan for INR 90 lakh. They then invested in uncapped Indian domestic talent Vaibhav Arora for INR 60 lakh and Suyash Sharma for his base price of INR 20 lakh.

The former champions made another astute signing by acquiring David Wiese for INR 1 crore. During the accelerated auction, Kolkata made a splash by signing three seasoned players: Bangladesh’s Litton Das (INR 50 lakh), Shakib Al Hasan (INR 1.5 crore), and Mandeep Singh (INR 50 lakh).


The final Kolkata Knight Riders squad that will play in the IPL 2023 is as follows –


Wicket-Keeper/ Batsmen

Rahmanullah Gurbaz

Litton Das



Shreyas Iyer

Nitish Rana

Rinku Singh

N Jagadeesan

Mandeep Singh



Venkatesh Iyer

Andre Russell

Sunil Narine

Anukul Roy

David Wiese

Shakib Al Hasan



Umesh Yadav

Tim Southee

Harshit Rana

Varun Chakravarthy

Shardul Thakur

Lockie Ferguson

Vaibhav Arora

Suyash Sharma

Kulwant Khejroliya

Table of Contents