38fb0de3 delhi
Image Source - Twitter

IPL 2023 – The Dehi Capitals’ road to IPL 2023

Last year, Delhi Capitals had a disappointing performance in the IPL and failed to make it to the playoffs after losing to Mumbai Indians, who were placed last in the tournament. The team had qualified for the playoffs in the previous three seasons, but their new leader Rishabh Pant did not live up to expectations.

Before the tournament, Delhi Capitals made several changes to their squad, including releasing former captain Shreyas Iyer. Rishabh Pant took over as captain and started strong but lost momentum towards the end of the tournament. The team also released notable players Shardul Thakur and Tim Seifert, with Thakur joining Kolkata Knight Riders. The decision to release Seifert was surprising as he was one of the backup keepers alongside KS Bharat, who was also released ahead of the IPL 2023 Auction.

Delhi Capitals’ squad appears to rely heavily on their strong batting lineup but were able to make some trades and raise their purse value to INR 19.45 crore before the auction. Under the guidance of former Australian captain Ricky Ponting, who supports Rishabh Pant, the team hopes to secure their first IPL title in 2023.


IPL 2023 Mini Auction performance

The Delhi Capitals had a disappointing IPL 2022 campaign as they failed to qualify for the playoffs. Skipper Rishabh Pant was under scrutiny for some questionable decisions towards the end of the season. However, the Delhi-based franchise had INR 19.45 crore to spend and five slots to fill ahead of the IPL 2023 auction. They released four players in the draft and traded Aman Khan for Shardul Thakur.

The franchise faced a setback when Mitchell Marsh was ruled out due to an ankle injury, making him uncertain for the next IPL. They competed with Mumbai Indians for Cameron Green but lost with a winning bid of INR 17.5 crore. The team made a smart move by signing Phil Salt for INR 2 crore and uncapped Indian pacer Mukesh Kumar for INR 5.5 crore. They also signed Manish Pandey after a bidding war with RCB, Ishant Sharma for INR 50 lakh, and Rilee Rossouw for INR 4.6 crore.


The final Delhi Capitals squad to play in the IPL 2023 is as follows –



Rishabh Pant

Phil Salt



Prithvi Shaw

David Warner

Sarfaraz Khan

Yash Dhull

Rovman Powell

Manish Pandey

Rilee Rossouw



Axar Patel

Mitchell Marsh

Lalit Yadav

Ripal Patel

Vicky Ostwal

Aman Khan



Anrich Nortje

Kamlesh Nagarkoti

Mustafizur Rahman

Kuldeep Yadav

Khaleel Ahmed

Chetan Sakariya

Pravin Dubey

Lungi Ngidi

Ishant Sharma

Mukesh Kumar

Table of Contents