Image Source - Twitter

Delhi Capitals forge strategic partnership with Viacom18 ahead of IPL and WPL

The Delhi Capitals (DC) have announced a digital-first partnership with Viacom18, which owns the digital rights to the upcoming Indian Premier League (IPL) and the global rights of the Women’s Premier League (WPL). The exclusive partnership was unveiled by Dhiraj Malhotra, the CEO of the Delhi-based franchise, who expressed his excitement at joining forces with the reputed brand. Malhotra highlighted DC’s strong social media presence and said they were set to grow to a new level with Viacom18’s support.

“We are thrilled to partner with Viacom18 and reach out to a wider fan base through their incredible digital footprint. Our association with Viacom18 will take our engagement on digital to a whole new level. We believe this partnership will enable our fans unprecedented access to the exciting universe of Delhi Capitals through JioCinema,” said Malhotra, as quoted by News18.

The Viacom18 Sports Head of Strategy & Partnerships, Hursh Shrivastava, spoke about the company’s vision and how the partnership with Delhi Capitals can help them grow in the subcontinent. “The partnership with Delhi Capitals will help augment our digital proposition and give fans a compelling reason to watch exciting exclusive surround content complementing the live coverage of TATA IPL and WPL matches on JioCinema,” Shrivastava mentioned.

The partnership will bring fans closer to the Delhi Capitals through JioCinema and offer them never-seen-before engagement on cricket, he added. Notably, Delhi Capitals will begin their WPL campaign against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) on March 5 at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai. Meanwhile, the franchise is yet to announce its skipper for the Women’s Premier League and Rishabh Pant’s replacement for the upcoming season. However, David Warner is likely to take the reins. The team will take on Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) in their first IPL game of the season on April 1 at the BRSABV Ekana stadium in Lucknow.