38fb0de3 delhi
Image Source - Twitter

IPL 2023 – 5 Most followed teams on social media

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is widely regarded as the world’s greatest T20 competition. Its maiden season was held in 2008, with eight franchisees competing against one another. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) was successful in gaining the support of game aficionados after the inaugural edition of the competition. Given the league’s popularity among fans, the BCCI decided to hold it on a regular basis.

Following fifteen editions of the tournament, the franchisees’ enchantment may be measured by the support of their followers on social media platforms. Smartphones and social media platforms have made it simpler for fans to interact with their favourite clubs and players. The availability of social media in the digital era has played a vital part in boosting the fans of the IPL clubs.

Let’s take a look at the 5 most followed teams on social media.


Number 5. Delhi Capitals


Image Source – Twitter


The Delhi Capitals (DC) began their adventure in the 2008 IPL and have yet to win the championship. They may have beaten Mumbai Indians (MI) and won the trophy in the 2020 IPL, which will be contested in the United Arab Emirates. But, MI ruined DC’s ambition on a magnificent day, outclassing Iyer and his team with their expertise from prior league final games.

Formerly, the franchise was led by prominent players such as Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir but failed to win any trophies. In 2009, they dominated the league stage of the competition, finishing as table leaders. Nevertheless, the Caps’ trip was halted in the semi-finals as they were beaten by the Deccan Chargers by six wickets, who went on to win the league that year.

Rishabh Pant, a youthful and athletic player, is now in charge of the team. After Pant was involved in a vehicle accident in December 2022, David Warner might be seen guiding the side this year. Fans of the franchise will be hoping to see their DC players lift the IPL trophy for the first time this year. DC now has 13.8 million social media followers, including 8.1 million on Facebook, 3.3 million on Instagram, and 2.4 million on Twitter.


Number 4. Kolkata Knight Riders


Image Source – Twitter


With two IPL titles, Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) are the league’s third most successful team. From 2008 through 2010, the franchise performed poorly in the competition, being the first side to fail to reach the knockout round following the league’s first three seasons. After two seasons of subpar performances, the franchise administration put their trust in Gautam Gambhir to lead their club.

In 2011, the Knight Riders got to the playoff round and played the eliminator game against the Mumbai Indians (MI). Gautam Gambhir demonstrated his leadership abilities and won the franchise’s first title in the fifth edition of the tournament. In 2014, KKR won their second title after defeating Punjab Kings (PBKS) in an exciting final match.

Under the guidance of the then-English white-ball skipper Eoin Morgan, the franchise played their third final match in the event against Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in 2021. Morgan and his team, on the other hand, did not seem spectacular in the big game, as CSK won by 27 runs. Shreyas Iyer has been the KKR captain since 2022, and in the next IPL season, he will try to lift the IPL trophy and bring shouts to the franchise’s supporters. Now, the franchise has 24.5 million social media followers, including 16 million on Facebook, 5.1 million on Twitter, and 3.4 million on Instagram.


Number 3. Royal Challengers Bangalore


image source – Twitter


Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) receives a lot of love from IPL fans. Despite not winning a single championship, their fan base is higher than that of the Rajasthan Royals (RR) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), who both won the trophy in 2008. The franchise has 25.5 million followers on social media sites.

On Instagram, RCB has the most followers of any social media site (9.6 million). The franchise has 6.4 million and 9.0 million followers on Twitter and Facebook, respectively. With these figures, RCB is the league’s third most followed team.

This year, the Royal Challengers will be hoping to satiate their appetite for an IPL title. Famous cricketers like as Rahul Dravid, Anil Kumble, Daniel Vettori, and Virat Kohli have headed the franchise but have yet to win a trophy. Last year, the leadership was given to South African hitter Faf du Plessis by the team’s management.


Number 2. Mumbai Indians


Image Source – Twitter


Mumbai Indians (MI) are currently the most successful team in the event, having won five championships. Beginning their voyage in 2008, the brand failed to make an impression in the competition, finishing in fifth place. MI also seemed ineffectual in the 2009 edition, as their adventure ended only in the league stage.

Nonetheless, the brand demonstrated its strength by finishing second in the tournament in 2010. MI named Rohit Sharma, a youthful and enthusiastic skipper, as their captain in 2013. Sharma earned his club its first IPL victory by effectively playing the role of captain. MI also won trophies in 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020 after winning in 2013.

They suffered their worst season in 2022, finishing at the bottom of the table with just four victories in 14 games. Throughout that challenging era, MI supporters never gave up faith and trusted in their team’s ability to succeed. MI now has 31.8 million followers across all of its social media channels. The five-time IPL winners have 13 million and 10.9 million followers on Facebook and Instagram, respectively. In addition, the franchise has 7.9 million Twitter followers.


Number 1. Chennai Super Kings


Image Source – Twitter


Chennai Super Kings (CSK) are the league’s second most successful team, after only Mumbai Indians (MI). CSK is one of the most dangerous teams in the tournament, having won four titles under MS Dhoni. The club demonstrated its class in the first season of the IPL, finishing as runners-up under the leadership of MS Dhoni.

Nevertheless, they began to rule the franchise league in 2010, when they annihilated the Mumbai Indians (MI) in the tournament’s third iteration. MS Dhoni and co. prevailed again in the fourth season of the IPL, convincingly defending their championship and thrashing Royal Challengers Bangalore in the final game. The Super Kings were banned from the league for two years in 2015 for match-fixing and betting operations. After missing the 2016-17 seasons, the franchise returned in 2018 and won its third championship.

In 2021, they defeated the Eoin Morgan-led Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) to win the league for the fourth time in its existence. Last year, they were unable to keep the trophy. Yet, CSK fans would expect the brand to do well in the forthcoming competition and add another trophy to their collection. So far, the four-time IPL winners have 32.6 million social media followers, including 12.5 million on Facebook and 10.8 million on Instagram. In terms of Twitter support, they have 9.3 million followers.