f75a57e2 ks bharat
Image Source - Twitter

KS Bharat is India’s first-choice wicketkeeper for the Border Gavaskar Trophy, according to MSK Prasad

Former India top selector MSK Prasad has chosen KS Bharat as his first-choice wicketkeeper for the forthcoming four-match Test series against Australia, which begins on February 9. Prasad feels that Bharat has been developed to be a specialist wicketkeeper for India A and that he should make his debut for India in whites.

Indian captain Rohit Sharma has been left with the alternatives of Bharat and Ishan after India’s first-choice wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant was involved in a catastrophic automobile accident in December 2022 and is now on the mend after successful surgery. As a result, India must determine the location before to their significant task.

“Bharat had been nurtured and identified as India’s Test keeper since he was a member of the India A team. He gave it his all in those matches and has done well in red-ball cricket generally. He’s been waiting for his chance, and it looks he’ll get it in the next Test. Ishan, on the other hand, must wait “The Telegraph was informed by MSK Prasad.

The Andhra Pradesh wicketkeeper-batsman has participated in 86 first-class games, amassing 4707 runs at an average of 37.95 with nine hundreds and 27 half-centuries. Later, in the third ODI against Bangladesh in December 2022, second wicketkeeper Ishan Kishan drew everyone’s attention by hitting 210 runs off 131 balls. Yet, he has yet to do anything noteworthy since then.

“Being a wicketkeeper in Test matches necessitates a completely different attitude. It’s not simply about getting 20 or 50 overs. You may have to spend a full day or more standing behind the stumps. I believe that such a circumstance will happen only if Bharat fails to capitalise on his possibilities. They may then consider alternative possibilities “MSK went on to say more.

From the first Test in Nagpur, India and Australia will square off. Dehli, Dharamshala, and Ahmedabad will host the final three Tests. After the Tests, both countries will play a three-match ODI series beginning March 17.