719f4772 shafali verma
Image Source - Twitter

Jay Shah rewards India’s U-19 Women’s team and staff with prize money following historic victory

After the Indian U-19 Women’s Team made history by winning the ICC Under-19 Women’s T20 World Cup, the BCCI’s Secretary, Jay Shah, announced the prize money of INR 5 crores in a tweet.



The young Women in Blue, headed by captain Shafali Verma, defeated England by 7 wickets in the final. England U19 women were bowled out for 68 runs in 17.1 overs thanks to some excellent bowling by the Indian bowlers. Titas Sadhu began the proceedings by dismissing Liberty Heap in the first over; England was unable to recover and continued to lose wickets at regular intervals. Sadhu, Archana Devi, and Parshavi Chopra all took two wickets. Shafali, Sonam Yadav, and Mannat Kashyap each took a wicket.

India had little difficulties in a straightforward 69-run chase, completing the task in 14 overs while losing three wickets. Soumya Tiwari struck the winning run for India while remaining undefeated on 24 off 37 balls and striking three boundaries.

Titas Sadhu was named Player of the Match after a stunning stint of four overs in which she allowed just six runs. Meanwhile, Grace Scrivens of England was named Player of the Tournament.

This is India’s first big ICC Trophy success, and it came with the ladies who represent the future of Indian women’s cricket.