791ea0b5 smriti
Image Source - Twitter

Four Indian Cricketers Named in ICC’s Women’s T20I Team of the Year 2022

On Monday, the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the Women’s T20I Team of the Year 2022. (January 23). Four Indian cricketers, including top batter Smriti Mandhana, are selected, as are three Australian players. Sophie Devine of New Zealand has been appointed captain of the 11 extraordinary players for 2022.

Last year, the Indian team won the 2022 Women’s Asia Cup and took silver at the 2022 Commonwealth Games. They did, however, lose 1-4 to Australia Women in their last T20I match at home in 2022, although they finished the year with several notable individual performances.

Smriti Mandhana, the star hitter, had another outstanding year in T20Is in 2022, scoring 594 runs at an average of 33.00 and striking at a strike rate of 133.48. She is competing against Australian player Beth Mooney for the first spot in the ICC’s Women’s T20I Team of the Year 2022. Mooney scored 449 runs in 13 T20I innings in 2022, an incredible average of 56.12.

The yearly squad is led by Kiwi skipper Sophie Devine, with Australian all-rounders Ashleigh Gardner and Tahila McGrath dominating the middle order following strong all-round performances last year. McGrath leads the current ICC T20I batsman rankings, while Gardner leads the all-rounder rankings.

Nida Dar, the team’s star all-rounder, is the only Pakistani cricketer who scored 396 runs and grabbed 15 wickets in T20Is last year. Deepti Sharma, perhaps India’s finest player in 2022, was also included, as was talented wicketkeeper-batter Richa Ghosh.

In the bowling category, England’s spin ace, Sophie Ecclestone, who leads the ICC T20 Bowler’s chart, joins Sri Lankan great bowler, Inoka Ranaweera, and Indian pacer, Renuka Singh.