3655c65c ilt20
Image Source - Twitter

ILT20 2023: Understanding the Green, White, Blue, Black, and Red Belts and Predictions for the Winner

The organisers of the present International League T20 (ILT20), the premier domestic T20 league in the United Arab Emirates (UAE), have introduced five sets of belts as an innovative way to identify and inspire players during the game.

Green Belt, White Belt, Black Belt, Red Belt, and Blue Belt are the five belts adopted in the tournament’s inaugural edition to motivate participants. The Green and White Belts will be transferred from player to player as the cricketers top the rankings for most run-scorer and most wicket-taker, respectively, during the season, in an attempt to keep fans talking and players reaching higher.

The competition kicked off on Friday with a spectacular opening ceremony at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium, and while the players are experiencing a number of new initiatives, such as the use of fan-engaging ‘SmartBall’ technology on the field, they are also receiving a special set of prizes.

So, what do these belts signify?

Green Belt

The Green Belt will be passed down from one cricketer to the next when one player exceeds the other to top the rankings and become the tournament’s highest run-getter. If the statistics change, the Green Belt will be handed on at the end of each inning.

White Belt

The White Belt, like the Green Belt, will move from one bowler to another at the conclusion of an innings. When one bowler exceeds the other to become the tournament’s highest wicket-taker, he is awarded the White Belt.

Black Belt

The Black Belt is not used at this level of the competition since it is just the league stage. The famous Black Belt will be awarded to the owner of the winning ILT20 team, that is, the team that raises the coveted cup in the first ILT20 finals. This Belt will only be awarded at the tournament’s closing ceremony.

Red belt

During the league’s final presentation ceremony, the league’s most valuable player will also be honoured and given with the stunning Red Belt in recognition of his constantly rewarding efforts throughout the competition.

Blue Belt

Meanwhile, the league’s 24 specially selected UAE players will battle for the Blue Belt, which will be presented to the best UAE player at the end of the season.