19b273a5 steve smith bbl
Image Source - Twitter

From 2024/2025, the Big Bash League will consist of 43 matches

On Tuesday, Cricket Australia signed a $1.5 billion domestic broadcast rights arrangement with Foxtel Group and Seven West Media (January 3). According to a new agreement, the Big Bash League (BBL) would be decreased by 18 matches beginning with the 2024-25 season, making it a 43-match season.

The Foxtel Group will renew the television rights and Seven West Media will continue to live stream the matches for another seven years under the new arrangement. The last agreement was inked in 2018 for $1.18 billion and was set to expire in 2024. However, recent interest from Network 10 and the Nine Network compelled Cricket Australia to extend their contracts with the Foxtel Group and Seven West Media.

“The quality and reach of Foxtel Group and Seven’s cricket production is first class, and the outstanding service they provide cricket fans was a strong consideration in our decision to continue with this successful partnership,” Cricket Australia chief executive Nick Hockley said in an official statement on Tuesday.

All men’s Tests, all women’s international matches, a minimum of 23 WBBL matches, and 33 BBL matches will continue to be aired by Seven West Media. Seven was in a legal fight with Cricket Australia about a lack of quality in the BBL, but with this new agreement, they decided to drop their legal case against the CA. Seven’s CEO, James Warburton, praised Cricket Australia for the extended contract and said that they would continue to work to enhance the BBL.

“I’d want to congratulate Nick Hockley and the Cricket Australia staff for their ongoing efforts to promote cricket, especially the BBL upgrades. We look forward to working with Cricket Australia in the next years to expand Test cricket, women’s internationals, and the BBL and WBBL “Warburton made the announcement in a statement.

The current BBL season consists of 61 games, with eight clubs competing in a double round-robin format. The Perth Scorchers, last season’s winners, top the current standings with five victories from their first six games. And the Brisbane Heat are suffering at the bottom of the standings, with just two victories in six games.