0adfac0c nz wtc winners
Image Source - Twitter

WTC 2021-23: Complete Qualification Picture for Participating Teams Released

The present World Test Championship cycle has reached an interesting moment, with just a few teams battling for the top two slots in the points standings. After losing out on the WTC final in 2021, the Australian team is the clear favourite to return in 2023. However, four other clubs are also vying for the other berth.

In addition to Australia, South Africa, India, Sri Lanka, and the West Indies will compete for the WTC final, which will be hosted at The Oval in June 2023. India, the previous edition’s runners-up, is one of the other favourites to reach the final for the second time. They still have a lot of work to do to secure their berth in the huge event in June 2023.


Number 1. Australia (Remaining Matches – 5)

Pat Cummins’ men are on the cusp of making their first WTC final appearance, as they need only one victory from their remaining five matches to finish in the top two. The third and final match of the current Test series against the Proteas, with the hosts already 2-0 up in the series against a woeful South African squad, might easily cement their position. Following the current series, they will face India in a four-match Test series later this year.


Number 2. India (Remaining Matches – 4)

The Indian team’s prospects of reaching their second consecutive WTC final were severely harmed by their series setback against South Africa in early 2022. However, a string of positive performances elsewhere, as well as a sweeping series victory against Bangladesh, have re-energized their campaign. The next Border-Gavaskar Trophy is essential for the subcontinent team, as a series win against Australia would almost certainly secure their place in the final, which will be contested in June later this year.


Number 3. South Africa (Remaining Matches – 3)

South Africa was in pole position to reach the World Tennis Championship final in 2023, but straight series defeats to England and Australia have destroyed their ambitions. They can still reach the final, but they must overcome Australia in the third Test at the SCG and perform well in the two-match series against the Windies, with help from other outcomes.


Number 4. Sri Lanka (Remaining Matches – 2)

With multiple outcomes falling in their favour, the Islanders have been the greatest gainers in the WTC points standings. However, in order to qualify for the final, Sri Lanka must beat New Zealand in both Test matches in the forthcoming series.


Number 5. West Indies (Remaining Matches – 2)

The West Indies have a small chance of make the WTC final, with their prospects dependent on numerous other outcomes. They have just two matches left in the current cycle, and they will need to win both games against the Proteas to finish in the top two spots in the WTC points table.


Number 6. England (Remaining Matches – 0)

England would have been right in the heart of things if not for their awful record in the game’s longest format prior to the advent of Brendon McCullum at the helm. They are no longer in contention for the WTC final, but they are among the top candidates for the following cycle.


Number 7. New Zealand (Remaining Matches – 3)

The Kiwis were eliminated from the WTC final race with their tie against Pakistan in the first Test of the series. They may, however, ruin Sri Lanka’s celebration by winning all three of their remaining three matches, one against Pakistan and two against Sri Lanka.


Number 8. Pakistan (Remaining Matches – 1)

In 2022, Babar Azam’s Pakistan had a terrible time in the longest format of the game, failing to win a single Test match on home soil and suffering back-to-back series failures against Australia and England. A tie against New Zealand in the first Test sealed their fate for the current WTC cycle, since a victory over the Kiwis in the final Test will not be enough to propel them to second place in the points standings.