c28de06c bpllogo03012201
Image Source - Twitter

BPL 2023 Announces No DRS Use in Group Stage Matches

The Decision Review System (DRS) will be utilized solely in the knock-out round of the next ninth edition of the Bangladesh Premier League, with the alternate DRS with fewer checking mechanisms used during the group stage.

Ismail Haider Mollick, BPL’s governing council member secretary, indicated that two other franchise competitions would be running concurrently to the Bangladesh Premier League, making DRS availability impossible throughout the 2019 season.

“We will have the whole DRS system from the qualifier stage to the final, and we are attempting to bring alternate DRS for the remaining games. This time, we’ll have an improved version of alternate DRS “According to The Daily Star, Mollick said.

“Hawk eye technology is not accessible, and the virtual eye is only available in Australia and New Zealand. And there are several matches taking place all around the globe. Hawkeye has bilateral series obligations, so we will only have that from the eliminator stage “Mollick said.

Aside from the availability of the DRS, another piece of news that has recently made headlines is that the prize money connected with the competition will be increased at both the individual and team levels.

“We want to pay Tk 10 lakh to the Man of the Series and enhance the prize money for the best bowler and other individual honors. The winning team will get Tk 2 crore, while the runners-up will receive Tk 1 crore, for a total of Tk 4 crore in prize money “Mollick said.

The BPL 2023 season will begin on January 6 with a match between the reigning champions, Comilla Victorians, and Chattogram Challengers. Seven teams will compete in a double round-robin style, with the top four teams advancing to the knockout rounds.

This season, all 46 matches (42 group-stage and four knockout) will be played at three sites. All four knockout matches, including the final on February 16, will be played at the Shere Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka. The other two sites are Sylhet International Cricket Stadium and Chattogram’s Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium.