Image Source - Twitter

The Lanka Premier League 2022 will begin on December 6th

The dates for the third season of the Lankan Premier League have finally been published, with reigning champions Jaffna Kings taking on Galle Gladiators in the tournament’s first match on December 6 at Hambantota. The event will include five teams and a total of 24 matches, with the qualifications, eliminators, and finals taking place at RPICS in Colombo on the 21st, 22nd, and 23rd of December, respectively.

The league stage will consist of 20 games, with the two teams at the top of the table playing Qualifier 1 and the winner immediately qualifying for the finals. Teams placing third and fourth in the standings will play the Eliminator, with the winner facing the loser of Qualifier one to determine the other finalist.

“The appetite for cricket in Sri Lanka is huge and we are bringing the best of cricketing action to our fans in Sri Lanka. With the Lanka Premier League, we want to provide some high-energy T20 cricket throughout December. Sri Lankan Cricket has always produced many world-class players and the inclusion of top international cricketers like Evin Lewis, Carlos Brathwaite, and Janneman Malan among others is contributing to the growth and popularity of Lanka Premier League in the subcontinent. I am sure that the third edition will be a success like the last two seasons,” said Anil Mohan, Founder and CEO of IPG, the official promoter of LPL.

The competition, which is now regarded as Sri Lanka’s best domestic league, will include a number of international cricketers, including Evin Lewis, Janneman Malan, Carlos Braithwaite, D’Arcy Short, and Shoaib Malik, among others.

To increase fan appeal, the LPL management has appointed former Sri Lanka international Sanath Jayasuriya and former Pakistan captain Wasim Akram as brand ambassadors.