Image Source - Twitter

In December, India will host Australia for five Twenty20 Internationals

India will host Australia in a five-match T20I series beginning December 9. The first two games of the 11-day trip will be contested at the DY Patil Stadium before the action moves to the Brabourne Stadium for the following three. The series resumes both sides’ preparations for the Women’s T20 World Cup in February.

For Australia, this might be the first series without regular skipper Meg Lanning, who chose to take an extended mental health leave after winning the Commonwealth Games, where these two teams last clashed. With Rachael Haynes’ retirement, Australia is now without a captain. Alyssa Healy has been selected vice-captain, and with Lanning’s comeback still uncertain, Healy might take over as captain for this trip.

The Australian players will enter the series fresh off the conclusion of the Women’s Big Bash League on November 26. While some Indian players, such as Pooja Vastrakar and Jemimah Rodrigues, chose to compete in the WBBL, others, such as Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana, opted out to manage their rising workload.

The series will mark India’s comeback to the international circuit after their victory over Sri Lanka in the Asia Cup in October. In preparation for the Women’s T20 World Cup 2023, they will trip South Africa in the second part of January for a tri-series with the West Indies.

Australia recently visited India for a limited-overs series in 2018, winning 3-0 in ODIs before defeating India twice in the tri-nation women’s T20 series.