Image Source - Twitter

India names a 16-man team for the ODI series against South Africa, with Rajat Patidar and Mukesh Kumar making their first appearances

Following the present T20I series, India and South Africa will square off in a three-match One-Day International (ODI) series beginning Thursday, October 6 at the Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium in Lucknow. The Board of Control for Cricket in India has announced the Indian team (BCCI).

Shikhar Dhawan has been selected captain for the One Day International series, with middle-order prodigy Shreyas Iyer serving as his deputy. Most of the T20 World Cup-bound players have been rested for the last leg of this home white-ball series against the Proteas.

Meanwhile, Dhawan and Iyer will be aiming to take advantage of this chance by scoring some crucial runs in the forthcoming series as the Indian team management and selectors prepare a squad for the 50-over World Cup at home next year.

Dhawan was only picked for ODIs, while Iyer was left out of the T20 World Cup roster despite making several appearances in the shorter format this year. Meanwhile, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Shubman Gill would be keen to test their mettle in the 50-over format. At the same time, this would be an excellent chance for Sanju Samson and Rahul Tripathi to let their bats speak for themselves. Despite his consistency in T20s, Tripathi was unable to reach the India XI this year, as the team management chose Rishabh Pant and Dinesh Karthik as their first-choice stumpers for the Asia Cup and T20 World Cup. Meanwhile, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar, Avesh Khan, and Mohammed Siraj will be looking to get some match practice before the main event.

The Indian Team to face the South African side in the ODI series is as follows –

Shikhar Dhawan (C), Shreyas Iyer (VC), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubhman Gill, Rajat Patidar, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (WK), Sanju Samson (WK), Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Mohd. Siraj, Deepak Chahar.