Image Source - Twitter

Women’s T20 Asia Cup – Sri Lanka announce 15-member squad to participate in the tournament

Sri Lanka announced a 15-member roster for the Asia Cup 2022, three changes from the squad that played in the Commonwealth Games 2022. The team will be led by Chamari Athapaththu in the event, which will be hosted by Bangladesh.

Vishmi Gunaratne, 17, and the veteran Ama Kanchana and Udeshika Prabodhani were replaced by left-arm seamer Tharika Sewwandi, wicketkeeper-batter Kaushani Nuthyangana, and allrounder Madushika Methtananda.

Both Nuthyangana, 20, who will replace Anushka Sanjeewani at the crease, and Sewwandi, 21, who will replace Prabodhani as the team’s left-arm seamer, have been highlighted as possible future stars. Methtananda, on the other hand, will be making her second appearance for Sri Lanka, having made her debut in 2019.

The only inevitable alteration among the other members of the team is Gunaratne, who has a suspected stress fracture in her back. Despite the fact that Sri Lanka Cricket would have loved to include her, a recent MRI study indicated the problem.

SLC elected not to risk exacerbating her condition and instead focused on preparing for the first Under-19 Women’s T20 World Cup in South Africa in January 2023. Kanchana and Prabodhani have both been pulled out due to their recent poor performance. The remainder of the squad is still together.

Chamari Athapaththu leads a squad that features all-rounders Kavisha Dilhari, Nilakshi de Silva, Malsha Shehani, Methtananda, Sanjeewani, and Nuthyangana, as well as Hasini Perera and Harshitha Samarawickrama. Sewwandi will be the team’s lone frontline pacer, although medium-pace players like Achini Kulasuriya, Methtananda, Nilakshi, and Shehani may also contribute to the attack.

The Sri Lankan team is well-equipped for spin bowling, with Inoka Ranaweera and Sugandika Kumari, as well as all-rounders Athapaththu, Dilhari, and Ranasinghe, contributing well with the ball. Rashmi Silva, another spinner, has been called up and will most likely make her T20I debut in the competition, where Sri Lanka will begin their campaign on October 1.

The Sri Lanka squad to participate in the tournament is as follows –

Chamari Athapaththu (captain), Hasini Perera, Harshitha Samarawickrama, Kaveesha Dilhari, Nilakshi de Silva, Anushka Sanjeewani (wk), Kaushani Nuthyangana, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Malsha Shehani, Madushika Meththananda, Inoka Ranaweera, Rashmi Silva, Sugandika Kumari, Achini Kulasuriya, Tharika Sewwandi