Image Source - Twitter

Kieron Pollard, David Miller, and Chris Lynn now have access to Abu Dhabi T10

This winter, cricket’s quickest format will return with a boom, with Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Chris Lynn, and David Miller among this year’s Abu Dhabi T10 Icon Player selections.

Bravo has been retained by the Delhi Bulls, while Lynn is the headliner for the host city’s Team Abu Dhabi. The Bangla Tigers have signed Shakib Al Hasan, the Chennai Braves have retained Dasun Shanaka, and the Northern Warriors have retained Wanindu Hasaranga. Deccan Gladiators, the defending champions, have retained star captain Andre Russell as their Icon Player ahead of their championship defense.

The New York Strikers and the Morrisville SAMP Army will both debut in the United States this year. Pollard has been named the Icon Player for the New York Strikers, while Miller has been signed by the Morrisville SAMP Army.

Pollard, one of the most lethal and successful players in white ball cricket history, will join New York Strikers with England’s 2019 ODI World Cup winning skipper Eoin Morgan, who obviously means business with their first two choices.

Miller, a recent IPL champion with the Gujarat Titans, is joined as a Platinum player at Morrisville SAMP Army by compatriot – and tearaway fast – Anrich Nortje, with Moeen Ali and Shimron Hetmyer, also signed.

Season 7 of the Abu Dhabi T10 begins on November 23rd at the spectacular Zayed Cricket Stadium, with the final taking place on December 4th, the UAE’s National Day. Along with the six previous teams, two new sides from the United States have entered the fray, with the New York Strikers and the Morrisville SAMP Army making it an eight-team spectacle in which they will compete in a 10-overs-a-side tournament.

The first Icon and Platinum Player choices, as well as the retention picks, brought a lot of star power to the eight organizations. The tournament’s 2022 Official Player Draft will take place on September 26 in Abu Dhabi, with each side obliged to choose one International Emerging player and three UAE players.

Cricket’s fastest format attracted 342 million broadcast and over-the-top (OTT) internet viewers in 2021, resulting in an 81% increase in sponsorship revenues. Meanwhile, viewership surged by 135% compared to the previous episode.

The structure of the competition will see each of the eight teams face each other once – a single round-robin. The top four qualifying teams will progress to the playoffs, which will consist of two qualifiers and one eliminator to determine the last two teams.