Image Source - Twitter

ICC World T20 2022 – New Zealand announce 15-member squad to participate in the tournament

New Zealand has announced its squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, which will be held in Australia next month. The Black Caps have replaced Kyle Jamieson, Todd Astle, and Tim Seifert from the team that competed in the 2021 T20 World Cup Final with Lockie Ferguson, Michael Bracewell, and Finn Allen.

Trent Boult and Jimmy Neesham, two senior players who recently declined central contracts, as well as Finn Allen, one of the newest central contract recipients, have all been named to the squad.

Kane Williamson will captain the Black Caps for the third time in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. New Zealand has a potent pace attack with Boult, Ferguson, Tim Southee, and Adam Milne. Senior pro-Ish Sodhi will be assisted by Bracewell and Mitchell Santner as he leads the spin onslaught.

Bracewell, who debuted earlier this year, has already established himself as an important part of the system. He has produced crucial batting performances, earning him a spot on the team for the major competition. Glenn Phillips, Daryl Mitchell, Santner, Bracewell, and Neesham provide the squad with the ideal balance, as they can contribute with both the bat and the ball.

The same group of 15 players will compete in the tri-series that New Zealand will host ahead of the World Cup, along with Bangladesh and Pakistan. The tri-series will be extremely beneficial to all three teams, preparing them for the 20-over format.

In terms of the squad, both Bracewell and Allen will be making their world cup debuts. They earned a spot on the team after recent impressive and consistent performances. While Allen has provided the team with some solid starts batting first, Bracewell’s poise with the bat in the lower middle order has earned the team some good wins.

The New Zealand squad is as follows – 

Kane Williamson (c), Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Mitchell Santner, Glenn Phillips, Jimmy Neesham, Daryl Mitchell, Adam Milne, Martin Guptill, Lockie Ferguson, Devon Conway, Mark Chapman, Michael Bracewell, Trent Boult, Finn Allen.