Image Source - Twitter

ICC World T20 2022 – Ireland announce 15-member squad to participate in the tournament

On Tuesday, September 20, Ireland confirmed their 15-member roster for the forthcoming T20 World Cup 2022, led by skipper Andrew Balbirnie.

The showpiece tournament in Australia next month will be the first significant task for Balbirnie and his soldiers under Head Coach Heinrich Malan, after their historic T20I series victory against Afghanistan at home.

In August of this year, Ireland hosted Afghanistan for a five-match T20I series, which they won 3-2. Ireland was clinical in their opening two games, winning by seven and five wickets, respectively.

But, just when it seemed like they were going to win the series in the third T20I, Mohammad Nabi’s team came back ferociously. Nabi’s men won the third T20I by 22 runs at the Civil Service Cricket Club in Belfast, and they also won the fourth T20I by 27 runs (DLS method) at the same location.

With the series deadlocked at 2-2, both sides met in the fifth T20I on August 17, and Ireland got the last laugh, romping home by seven wickets (DLS method) to win the series 3-2. Ireland has had a solid preparation for the World Cup, having recently played several quality opponents.

In June of this year, Ireland welcomed India for a two-match T20I series. After being humiliated by the visitors by seven wickets in the first game, they staged a great comeback in the second T20I but were defeated by a narrow margin of four runs.

Following the India series, they hosted New Zealand for a three-match T20I series, however, they couldn’t avoid a clean sweep. Ireland also hosted South Africa for a two-match T20I series prior to the Afghanistan series and suffered yet another whitewash as the Proteas won the series 2-0.

On September 29, 2022, Ireland will travel to Australia. They will begin their journey in Sydney with a three-match warm-up series hosted by partners Randwick Petersham Cricket Club. They will then go to Melbourne for two official ICC Men’s T20 World Cup warm-up matches before heading to Hobart for the tournament’s opening round.

The Ireland squad that will play in the tournament is as follows – 

Andrew Balbirnie (C), Paul Stirling (vice-captain), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Stephen Doheny, Fionn Hand, Josh Little, Barry McCarthy, Conor Olphert, Simi Singh, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Craig Young