ff6e0b96 fyukda9ueaamdz0
Image Source - Twitter

The BCCI has announced India’s 15-man ODI team for the Zimbabwe series, with Deepak Chahar returning

The BCCI has named India’s 15-man roster for the forthcoming three-match One-Day International series against Zimbabwe. Shikhar Dhawan has been endorsed to continue as captain for this series, but KL Rahul remains on the sidelines after the BCCI medical staff recommended him to rest for another week, causing him to miss the upcoming T20I series against West Indies. Many anticipated him to lead the squad in Zimbabwe ODIs, but he should be back for the Asia Cup in the UAE.

Meanwhile, some rumors have stated that Virat Kohli would be featured on this trip to rediscover his form. However, it seems that the selectors have chosen to continue resting him in preparation for the 2018 Asia Cup. Meanwhile, India pacer Deepak Chahar has returned to the squad after a lengthy absence that included missing the Indian Premier League (IPL) and following international series for India.

Aside from Deepak Chahar, Washington Sundar has returned to the fold after recovering health and performing well in the County Championship. Rahul Tripathi, who played just one warm-up game during his last stint with the Indian side, has also been included in India’s ODI squad for this series.

The wicket-keepers are Ishan Kishan and Sanju Samson, while the pace attack is comprised of Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohammed Siraj, and Shardul Thakur. The other spinners in the lineup are Axar Patel and Kuldeep Yadav, while Ruturaj Gaikwad, who did not play a single ODI in the West Indies, has been retained.

The final Indian squad to face Zimbabwe is as follows –

Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Siraj, Deepak Chahar.