Image Source - Twitter

India’s Asia Cup and T20 World Cup squads are set to remain the same

On Saturday, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) released the 15-man roster for the three-match One-Day International (ODI) series against Zimbabwe. The Indian management has opted to rest senior players Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, and others once again. Shikhar Dhawan, who guided India to a 3-0 victory against the West Indies, is back in charge. Deepak Chahar and Washington Sundar make their long-awaited comeback to international cricket. The selection committee’s next and most tough assignment is to choose the roster for the Asia Cup 2022.

The deadline for announcing the Asia Cup team is August 8, and it is expected that the committee would wait until the last match of the West Indies tour, which is on August 7. The prominent players Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, and KL Rahul are all missing both the West Indies and Zimbabwe trips and will most likely play their next match in the Asia Cup immediately, which begins on August 27 and concludes on September 11.

With the Super 12 stage of the T20 World Cup set to begin on October 22nd in Australia, the Indian management is hoping to give the same team a number of matches. Since the completion of the Indian Premier League 2022, India has trialed many combinations in every department in the T20I format. In the recent two months, the management has also explored fresh leadership alternatives in the shape of Rishabh Pant and Hardik Pandya, but they are now expected to choose a solid and seasoned side for the Asia Cup.

KL Rahul was originally included to India’s T20I squad against the West Indies, however, he tested positive for Covid-19 and has been ruled out of the series. He hasn’t played international cricket since the IPL 2022 ended. Both Virat Kohli and Jasprit Bumrah are expected to participate in the Asia Cup in order to restore match fitness for the T20 World Cup.