Image Source - Twitter

The BCCI has announced the India Women’s squad for their tour of Sri Lanka

The India women’s team will embark on a three-match Twenty20 International (T20I) and three-match One-day International (ODI) trip to Sri Lanka on June 23. All T20Is will be played in Dambulla, while the ODIs will be played in Kandy. In a recent development, India named their roster for both forms.

Batter Harmanpreet Kaur, along with vice-captain Smriti Mandhana, will lead the Indian squad in both formats. Youngsters Simran Bahadur and Richa Ghosh are in the squad, along with some seasoned campaigners like leg-spinner Poonam Yadav and left-arm orthodox bowler Rajeshwari Gayakwad.

Top-order batters Jemimah Rodrigues and Radha Yadav were selected for the T20I squad but not for the ODI team. Taniya Bhatia, the wicketkeeper, and Harleen Deol, the batter, have been selected for the ODIs but not the T20Is.

India will miss former Indian captain Mithali Raj, who resigned from all forms of the game on June 8 after 23 years (Wednesday). She is India’s best ODI run-scorer and, at the age of 19, the youngest cricketer to hit a double century in Women’s Test cricket. She is also the second player in Women’s International Cricket history to score 10,000 runs. With Raj’s retirement, a few youthful faces who joined the squad now have a chance to secure their place. T20Is will be played from June 23 to June 27, while ODIs will be played from July 1 to July 7.