Image Source - Twitter

India vs South Africa T20I series – KL Rahul and Kuldeep Yadav have been ruled out for the series

KL Rahul, India’s stand-in captain, has been ruled out of the T20I series against South Africa due to a groyne injury. The BCCI confirmed that Rishabh Pant, who was earlier selected vice-captain, will lead the team with Hardik Pandya as his deputy.

Meanwhile, spinner Kuldeep Yadav, who only recently made his international comeback after falling out of favor, has been ruled out of the entire series after being hit on the right hand during practice. Rahul and Kuldeep will now travel to Bangalore to the National Cricket Academy “where the medical experts will analyse them further and decide on the future course of treatment,” according to the board. It has already been confirmed that there would be no substitutes named.

Rahul was selected captain in the absence of regular skipper Rohit Sharma, who is one of many premier players who would be rested from the series once the Indian Premier League concludes in 2022. India will host South Africa for five Twenty20 Internationals, beginning on June 9 at Delhi’s Arun Jaitley Stadium.

Rahul was most recently seen in action during the IPL 2022 when he helped Lucknow Supergiants to the playoffs in their inaugural season after placing third on the points table. However, an Eliminator loss to Royal Challengers Bangalore meant that LSG could not advance any further.

Pant, on the other hand, has added some captaincy experience to his resume after guiding the Delhi Capitals in the IPL. However, the team was unable to advance beyond the league stage in the most recent season, finishing fifth in the standings and losing out on a berth by just one spot. Pant will, however, be leading at the international level for the first time.

Meanwhile, it’s unclear whether Rahul’s injury would keep him out of the England tour, where India will play the rescheduled fifth Test as well as three T20Is and one ODI apiece from July 1 to July 17. Rahul has been picked as Rohit Sharma’s replacement in the Test team.