Image Source - Twitter

5 major records held by RCB despite not winning a single IPL Title

Since the establishment of the Indian Premier League (IPL) in 2008, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) has been one of the most popular franchises. Rahul Dravid, Jacques Kallis, Anil Kumble, Muttiah Muralitharan, Chris Gayle, and AB de Villiers have all been members of this side in the past. Virat Kohli, their star player, and the former captain is the only cricketer to have represented a single team since the first season, which is RCB.

Despite having such a star-studded lineup, RCB has yet to win the elusive prize. They made three finals, in 2009, 2011, and 2016, but failed to cross the finish line all three times. Their trophy cupboard is still empty after 15 seasons in the league. The Bangalore-based franchise boasts some of the most devoted and wild fans in the IPL, as they support their team in every edition. The well-known statement ‘Ee Sala Cup Namde,’ which translates to ‘This Year the Cup is Ours,’ is a yearly reckoning of all RCB fans, particularly those who dwell in Bangalore’s garden city.

Every season, fans show their love and support for the club, hoping that their squad would end its trophy drought soon. Every match, these fans can be heard chanting ‘RCB RCB RCB’ outside the Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore. After a disappointing 2022 campaign, supporters and the RCB squad are hoping to return stronger in 2023. Despite the lack of a trophy, RCB has set some mind-boggling and incredible records in the tournament’s history. These accomplishments are incredible, and it appears that no individual or club in the league will ever match them.

Let’s take a look at 5 MAJOR records held by the RCB without winning a single IPL Title.


Number 1. Highest Team Total – 263/5


Image Source – Twitter


RCB holds the record for the highest total in the IPL, 263/5. In 2013, they did it in Bangalore against the now-defunct Pune Warriors India (PWI). Chris Gayle hit an undefeated 175 off 66 balls as RCB easily defeated PWI by 130 runs.

On a dreary afternoon, Pune won the toss and elected to bat first. Gayle, the Caribbean power-hitter, ran through all of the bowlers in one of the most famous and destructive T20 innings. Tilakaratne Dilshan struck 33 off 36, while AB de Villiers got a blitz 31 off 8.

PWI could only manage 133/9 in their allotted 20 overs, despite having all six RCB bowlers among the wickets. Gayle also took two wickets in his one-over performance to cap off a memorable match for himself and his squad. Notably, RCB has the second-highest total of 248/3, which came against a defunct Gujarat Lions (GL) side at the same stadium in 2016.


Number 2. Highest Individual Score – 175* by Chris Gayle


Image Source – Twitter


Chris Gayle, the Universe Boss and T20 legend put his name in the history books on April 23, 2013, when he batted 175* off 66 balls against PWI. The Jamaican battered the PWI bowlers with 13 fours and 17 soaring sixes at a strike rate of 265.15.

The West Indian set and shattered multiple records that afternoon, including the greatest individual score in T20 cricket history. The West Indian hit left-arm spinner Ali Murtaza for a 119-meter six that cleared the stadium. Gayle looked like a beast from the start of the game, as RCB supporters witnessed the most damaging T20 power-hitting.

The left-handed batter assisted his team in winning the match by a tremendous margin of 130 runs and finished the evening by breaking a record. It was an honor to witness one of the greatest T20 knocks ever, as the record stands even after a nine-year wait.


Number 3. The highest Partnership 229 runs between AB De Villiers and Virat Kohli


Image Source – Twitter


Building partnerships is essential in any version of the game, and putting together a partnership of over 200 runs in the T20 format is something special. In the 2016 edition, the RCB duo of AB de Villiers and Virat Kohli put on a display against GL in Bangalore.

The pair forged a magnificent partnership of 229 runs for the second wicket, the most runs for any wicket in league history. It is also the second-highest T20 partnership in history. Tormenting the GL side, Kohli hit 109 off 55 balls, while de Villiers smashed an undefeated 129 off 52 balls.

Kohli’s innings featured five fours and eight maximums, while de Villiers smashed 10 fours and 12 huge sixes. The RCB batted first and achieved 248/3 in 20 overs courtesy of the pair’s remarkable efforts, while the Gujarat squad was bowled out for 104 runs, resulting in a record margin of defeat of 144 runs.


Number 4. Most Centuries by a team – 15


Image Source – Twitter


RCB batters have smashed the most centuries (15) in the league’s history. Gayle and Kohli each have five hundred, while de Villiers had two during his stellar IPL career. Manish Pandey, Devdutt Padikkal, and Rajat Patidar each have 100 for RCB.

Gayle scored 102* from 55 balls in his maiden encounter with the franchise against the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in Kolkata in 2011. He then went on to knock four more home runs for the organization, becoming a fan favorite at Chinnaswamy Stadium. Kohli’s four hundred all came in one incredible season in 2016, and his fifth and final century came against KKR in 2019.

De Villiers scored one against the Mumbai Indians (MI) in the 2015 season and another against the Gujarat Lions (GL) in the 2016 season. Pandey was the first player to sign up for RCB. In 2009, he pitched 114* pitches in 73 innings against the Deccan Chargers. Padikkal’s tonne came against the Rajasthan Royals (RR) in 2021, and Rajat Patidar became the most recent entrant in this list with his tonne against the Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) in 2022.


Number 5. Most Sixes in an innings – 17 by Chris Gayle


Image Source – Twitter


Gayle’s 175* off 66 against PWI in Bangalore in 2013 set a new record for the most sixes in an innings. The daring West Indian blasted 17 massive sixes and 13 fours. In his outstanding knock, he scored 154 runs out of 175 balls, all of which were fours and sixes.

The destructive batsman smashed a 119-meter six to spinner Ali Murtaza, which even traveled outside the Chinnaswamy Stadium. Gayle ripped through the PWI bowling attack to produce one of the greatest T20 innings in history. He hit five sixes against both Mitchell Marsh and Murtaza and four against part-timer Aaron Finch.

Two maximums were scored off the bowling of Ashok Dinda and one off the bowling of Luke Wright. The cricketing world witnessed massive innings from a renowned hitter who surprised everyone. Gayle and Kiwi Brendon McCullum both have the second most sixes hit in an innings. The latter hit 13 sixes on the first night of the IPL against KKR in 2008, while Gayle hit 13 sixes against Delhi Capitals in 2012.