Image Source - Twitter

India vs South Africa T20I series – All you need to know

Team India will face the South Africans in a five-match Twenty20 International series beginning on June 9. (Thursday). The Men in Blue will be captained by KL Rahul, while the Proteas will be led by regular skipper Temba Bavuma. Both nations have announced a quality roster, and the series will be exciting to watch, including some of the best cricketers in the world.

India will be looking to win the series in order to set a world record for the most consecutive T20I victories. India has won the last 12 Twenty20 Internationals, tying Afghanistan and Romania. India’s winning streak began last year at the T20 World Cup, albeit they were knocked out in the semi-finals. After losing to Pakistan and New Zealand, India defeated Afghanistan before absolutely crushing Scotland and Namibia.

The Proteas squad features some of the best performers from the IPL 2022, who gave their all for their respective clubs. The Proteas squad includes former captain Quinton de Kock, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Dwaine Pretorious, Kagiso Rabada, and debutant Tristan Stubbs. While India looks to prolong their record-breaking streak, the Proteas aim for a series win away from home.

India squad – KL Rahul (C), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (vice-captain, wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik.

South Africa squad – Temba Bavuma (C), Quinton de Kock (wk), Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Rassie van der Dussen and Marco Jansen.