Image Source - Twitter

Team India will assemble in Delhi on June 5 for the T20I series against South Africa

The BCCI has shifted its focus to the remainder of the home season after successfully organizing the 15th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL), which included a glittering closing ceremony just before the final. Team India is set to host South Africa for five T20 Internationals beginning June 9, with the board instructing its players to meet in Delhi, the site of the first T20I, on June 5.

The selectors rested the senior players for this series in preparation for the upcoming England tour, which includes the upcoming fifth Test, which was not played on the previous tour due to the COVID-19 threat. To face the Proteas, KL Rahul and Rishabh Pant have been named captain and vice-captain, respectively. Meanwhile, Cricket South Africa (CSA) has confirmed that Temba Bavuma’s visiting team will arrive in Delhi on June 2.

It was previously reported that the Indian team selected for the England tour, particularly the remaining fifth Test, would depart for the UK on June 16. Meanwhile, India will visit Ireland for two Twenty20 Internationals in the last week of June. The squad has yet to be chosen, and once chosen, the players will travel to Ireland on June 23 or 24.

Rishabh Pant, KL Rahul, and Shreyas Iyer, who have been selected for India’s Test squad as well as the upcoming South Africa T20Is, will depart for England on June 19. They will fly directly from Bangalore, where the final Twenty20 International will be played.

However, it is unclear whether head coach Rahul Dravid will oversee the entire South Africa series before departing for the United Kingdom. The NCA’s head, VVS Laxman, is set to be team India’s head coach for the Ireland tour, while Dravid will be with the Test team at the same time.