Image Source - Twitter

As NZC announces central contracts for 2022-23, Lea Tahuhu misses the bus

New Zealand Cricket has confirmed central contracts for their women’s squad for the 2022-23 season, with six new names joining the 17-member roster. However, veteran pacer Lea Tahuhu has not been included on the roster, which follows the much-publicized exclusion of Amy Satterthwaite from the central contract list. Satterthwaite, the former White Ferns captain, declared her international retirement after being upset with the contract announcement for the upcoming season.

Katey Martin (retired last week), Amy Satterthwaite, Lea Tahuhu, Frankie MacKay, Leigh Kasperek, and Thamsyn Newton have all been dropped from the essential list. The names listed above were all on the previous year’s list, and newcomers include Fran Jonas, Molly Penfold, Izzy Gaze, Nensi Patel, Eden Carson, and Georgia Plimmer.

According to the NZC’s Master Agreement with the players, the players have until June 3 to accept or decline the present offer. Bryan, NZC’s GM of High-Performance Cricket, talked up about some difficult decisions made during the release of central contracts.

“They have given their all; have made great sacrifices, and retain our absolute respect. It’s also important to emphasize that, just because someone hasn’t received a national contract offer, it doesn’t mean they cannot, or will not, be selected. This (national contracts) is about having on contract the players we’re most likely to use during the next 12-month period,” said NZC GM of High-Performance Cricket, Bryan Stronach.

“It’s never easy coming up with a final 17 players. Having said that, we’re excited about the six new faces receiving contract offers, several of whom already have some White Ferns experience under their belt. To be in a position in which we’re genuinely considering the credentials of a wider pool of players can only be viewed as a positive for the women’s game,” he added.