Image Source - Twitter

Australia will join the Commonwealth Games with the same team that won the World Cup

Australia has opted to keep the World Cup-winning squad for the Women’s T20 tournament, which will be held for the first time at the Commonwealth Games in 2022. Meg Lanning will captain the same team that won the 50-over World Cup in New Zealand earlier this year by defeating England by a big margin of 71 runs.

The Australian team, however, would be without head coach Matthew Mott, who has accepted an offer from the ECB to coach their men’s white-ball team. Shelley Nitschke will oversee the tasks as interim women’s head coach in this situation. Due to a back issue, star batter Ellyse Perry is scheduled to enter the tournament as a pure hitter.

Georgia Wareham, Sophie Molineux, and Tayla Vlaeminck are among the injured players who will miss the major event. Next month, Australia will begin its voyage with training sessions at the National Cricket Centre. The squad will then compete in a tri-series against Ireland and Pakistan in preparation for the Commonwealth Games.

“To be there with athletes from badminton, squash, lawn bowls and a host of other sports is going to be a wonderful new experience for our players to embrace. We’ve all grown up watching the Commonwealth Games on TV, seeing Australian athletes inspire the rest of the country, and we’re hoping to do the same,” said Australia skipper Meg Lanning.