Image Source - Twitter

IPL 2022 – Players who can replace Kane Williamson in the final group stage match of the season

Kane Williamson, the Sunrisers’ prominent skipper, will be out for their crucial final league game against Punjab Kings on Sunday (May 22). The New Zealand captain has had a difficult season with the bat, but he has marshaled the troops admirably and will be a major loss for the franchise as the tournament nears its conclusion. Notably, Williamson is returning to New Zealand to give birth to his second kid.

Williamson took over as captain from David Warner last season when the southpaw struggled with the bat. This was not Williamson’s first time in control of the franchise; he led the team in 2018, leading them to the final and finishing the season as the leading run-scorer. He was also a captain in the 2019 and 2021 seasons.

Although his batting hasn’t aided SRH’s cause, he has been crucial in other aspects of the squad, as his faith in players like Rahul Tripathi and Umran Malik has paid rewards, and his calm temperament is beneficial to the team’s younger players. His absence will be felt deeply by the Sunrisers Hyderabad since his leadership abilities in the game are unrivaled.

Replacing Kane Williamson will be a headache for the SRH selectors, and in this article, we are going to list a few players who we believe, can replace Kane Williamson as the captain for the final league stage match of the 2022 season.


Number 1. Nicholas Pooran


Image Source – Twitter


The powerful Trinidadian cricketer is one of the game’s top finishers and was recently named West Indies captain for limited-overs games. Pooran was a member of the Punjab franchise for three years before being released after a dismal 2021 campaign.

The Sunrisers paid 10.75 crores for the flashy left-hander, and he has proven to be worth every penny, slamming 300+ runs in the competition with a strike rate of around 150. He has been highly influential behind the stumps and is frequently seen conversing with bowlers between deliveries.

Although replacing Kane Williamson may be too much for the Trinidadian, his daring attitude to the game will aid his fellow hitters in breaking free and will relieve strain on the bowlers in difficult situations.


Number 2. Aiden Markram


Image Source – Twitter


The South African international is one of the most fashionable batters in the game. Markram bats traditionally and can play eye-catching offside strokes, but his power-hitting has recently risen to the fore.

In the IPL 2022, the right-hander has amassed over 350 runs with a strike rate of 140 for the SRH. In the latter stages of the innings, his relationship with Pooran has proven productive for the team.

As captain, Aiden Markram brings a proven track record, having led the South African Under-19 cricket team to victory in the 2014 ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup. In 2018, he captained the senior squad against India in five one-day internationals in the absence of Faf Du Plessis. Markram, at the age of 23 years and 123 days, was South Africa’s second-youngest ODI captain after Graeme Smith.


Number 3. Bhuvneshwar Kumar


Image Source – Twitter


Bhuvneshwar Kumar, one of the SRH franchise’s mainstays, is one of the team’s most valuable assets, and the most experienced player in the squad in terms of IPL games played, having appeared in over 140 games in the league. In April 2022, he became the first Indian bowler to take 150 wickets in the IPL.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar has had an outstanding comeback in this year’s league, and he is one of the greatest death bowlers in IPL 2022. His brilliance was on display once again on Tuesday night, when he delivered a wicket maiden in the 19th over against the Mumbai Indians, giving the Sunrisers a significant boost.

Bhuvneswar Kumar is no stranger to leadership duties, having previously captained the franchise in Kane Williamson’s absence in 2019. The Indian fast was also named vice-captain for the 2019 Sri Lanka trip. His expertise will be invaluable to the team, as he has played extensively under Virat Kohli, David Warner, and Kane Williamson.