Image Source - Twitter

The IPL 2022 final in Ahmedabad is scheduled to begin at 8 p.m

The final game of the current Indian Premier League (IPL) season will begin at 8 p.m. IST. The BCCI is planning a cultural closing celebration before the title match on May 29 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad (Sunday). Several Bollywood celebrities will also perform during the closing ceremony, which will last 50 minutes.

The closing ceremony will begin at 6:30 PM IST and will last until 7:20 PM IST. The toss will then take place at 7:30 p.m., with play beginning 30 minutes later. Surprisingly, the opening ceremony did not take place this year, and the decision to organize the closing ceremony was made as an afterthought during the Apex Council meeting.

This revelation follows allegations that the BCCI informed interested parties on Wednesday (May 18) that their preferred time to begin IPL matches next year would be 8 PM IST. They used to stick to the same schedule for the first ten years (2008-2017). However, at the request of Star Sports, the time of the matches was altered to 7:30 PM IST.

Meanwhile, the ongoing IPL season’s playoffs are expected to begin on May 24. After completing the league stage in four sites in Mumbai and Pune, the caravan will travel to Kolkata for the first qualifying and Eliminator. The second qualifier and final will be held at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

The two new entries, Gujarat Titans and Lucknow Super Giants have made the playoffs, with the Hardik Pandya-led team also securing first place in the points standings. The Rajasthan Royals are also in the playoffs and have a chance to finish in the top two if they win their last league game against the Chennai Super Kings. Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Capitals are competing for fourth place, with the latter controlling its own destiny.