Image Source - Twitter

Riyan Parag’s brash celebration irritates Matthew Hayden

Former Australian opener Matthew Hayden was not impressed by Riyan Parag’s cheeky catch celebration. Parag grabbed a good catch in the deep mid-wicket zone to dismiss Marcus Stoinis off Prasidh Krishna’s bowling during Rajasthan Royals’ recent match against Lucknow Super Giants. However, it was Parag’s contentious celebrations that drew the most attention, not the grab.

The boy signaled that he had caught the ball before it hit the ground. He appeared to be mocking the third umpire for ruling one of his catches filthy early in the game. Parag came running from long-on in the 19th over and appeared to have grabbed a fantastic catch. Following a review of the videos, the third umpire determined that the ball had hit the ground before Parag grabbed it.

After taking Stoinis’ catch, Parag opted to return it to the official, displeased with the choice. Hayden, who was on-air at the moment, was irritated because he gave the youngster some advice.

“I’ve got some advice for you young man, cricket is a very long game, and we all have very long memories, and you never ever tempt fate because it comes around fast enough,” the former opener said.

Meanwhile, Parag has been extremely fantastic in IPL 2022, with 17 catches in the field. He has also played some excellent knocks towards the finish, as RR is almost certain to make the playoffs. The Men in Pink improved to second place in the team standings with a convincing 24-run victory over LSG, bringing their total to 16 points.