Image Source - Twitter

The BCCI has announced the squads for the Women’s T20 Challenge 2022

The squads for the forthcoming three-team Women’s T20 Challenge have been revealed by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The competition was last held in 2020 and was unable to take part last year owing to Covid-19 restrictions. The fourth season of the event kicks off on May 23, with the first match planned between the third season’s finalists – Trailblazers and Supernovas. The final game will take contested on May 28 at the MCA Stadium in Pune, which will host all of the games.

While Harmanpreet Kaur will continue to captain the Supernovas, Smriti Mandhana will head the Trailblazers. Mithali Raj captained the Velocity until the previous season, but due to the veteran’s unavailability, the squad will be headed by all-rounder Deepti Sharma this time. Notably, Jhulan Goswami, who was a member of the Trailblazers’ champions team in 2020, will be out of play this year, as will Shikha Pandey.

The All-India Women’s Selection Committee decided the three teams, each with 16 players. The Trailblazers and Supernovas will face off in the first Women’s T20 Challenge match on May 23. The Supernovas will face Velocity on May 24, and the latter will face the Trailblazers on May 26. The competition final will feature the top two teams from the three.