Image Source - Twitter

During the SRH-RCB match, a massive umpiring blunder went overlooked

In the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022, umpiring has been heavily scrutinized. This season, the on-field officials have made several strange rulings, which have often been vital in the context of the game. While the majority of these gaffes have made headlines, one remained unreported during Sunday’s match between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Royal Challengers Bangalore (May 8).

RCB hitters Faf du Plessis and Rajat Patidar did not change strike at the conclusion of the 11th over, and even the umpire couldn’t spot the blunder. Patidar should have faced the first delivery of the 12th over because he took a single off Abhishek Sharma’s bowling in the last ball of the 11th. Faf du Plessis, on the other hand, took the strike.

While this gaffe did not immediately make headlines, numerous Twitter users afterward pointed out the inaccuracy and chastised the umpires. It should be emphasized that RCB won by 67 runs, with Patidar and Du Plessis both contributing vital knocks. Patidar struck 48 off 38 balls as the RCB captain played the anchor role and walked back undefeated on 73.

Aside from the two, Dinesh Karthik struck 30 runs off eight deliveries as RCB produced 192/3 on a tough surface at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium. In response, SRH never got going, losing wickets at regular intervals. Wanindu Hasaranga was the RCB wrecker-in-chief, taking his first five-for in the IPL. As a result, RCB cruised to a 67-run victory.