Image Source - Twitter

IPL 2022 – 5 of the longest sixes in the history of the tournament

The IPL’s power-hitting players encourage spectators to enjoy the game because they want to see their favourite players blast some deep sixes. Ruturaj Gaikwad hit a 108-meter six last season, which was the longest of the season. KL Rahul and Kieron Pollard, two more powerful hitters, were also capable of hitting sixes as far as 100 metres.

Any cricket fan will be enthralled by the fast pace of the game, as well as the hitters’ stunning and massive sixes. The batters are why the bulk of spectators watch the IPL. The teams have a fantastic lineup of world-class players. Some are big hitters, so fans can expect a barrage of sixes in every encounter. The IPL has seen some incredible knocks from players, including some massive hitting, since its inception.

In this article, we are going to talk about 5 of the longest sixes in the history of the tournament.


Number 1. Chris Gayle – 119 metres


Image Source – Twitter


When it comes to the best sixes, Chris Gayle has to be at the top of the list. Gayle has the most sixes in the IPL’s history. Gayle, who was created for the shorter version of the game, has hit a record 357 sixes in the IPL, the most by any player.

Universe Boss is responsible for the fifth-longest six on the list. In 2013, he hit Ashok Dinda of the now-defunct Pune Warriors India with a 119-meter six. Before joining KXIP, Gayle enjoyed a good tenure as an opener with Royal Challengers Bangalore (now known as Punjab Kings).

That inning against India’s Pune Warriors is unquestionably the greatest T20 knock ever. During his undefeated 175-run innings, Chris Gayle set a number of records. At Bengaluru’s Chinnaswamy Stadium, he single-handedly decimated Pune’s bowling attack and made it rain sixes.


Number 2. Robin Uthappa – 120 metres


Image Source – Twitter


It’s hard to think that a classic batsman like Robin Uthappa can hit the ball hundreds of yards. However, it happened in 2010 while playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore, when he hit a 120-meter six.

Uthappa, who depends largely on time, has shown that he can bat like a power hitter when the situation calls for it. In the IPL’s history, he has managed to clinch the fourth position on the list of longest sixes. Robin has also been one of the most prolific run scorers in the IPL’s history.

In 2014, he was the top scorer and recipient of the “Orange cap,” and he was instrumental in Kolkata’s championship victories in 2012 and 2014. He is currently playing for the Chennai Super Kings, the defending champions.


Number 3. Adam Gilchrist – 122 metres


Image Source – Twitter


The Dharamshala cricket ground, which is considerably higher in terms of height, has witnessed its fair share of monster sixes in recent years. It is not only lovely, but it is also heaven for hitters. Because the pitch is batting-friendly, some of the longest sixes have been hit here.

In 2011, against RCB, Australian superstar Adam Gilchrist hammered a 122-meter-long hit to Charl Langeveldt. It is still a wicket-keeper record that he set while playing for the Kings XI Punjab. He was the captain of the Punjab squad at the time, and IPL supporters were not surprised to see their favourite wicket-keeper take such a big hit.

Between 2008 and 2012, Adam Gilchrist played for two IPL clubs, Kings XI Punjab and Deccan Chargers. He guided the Deccan Chargers to the title in 2009 during his time in the cash-rich league. He scored 495 runs in 16 games, including three half-centuries, and had a fantastic season.


Number 4. Praveen Kumar – 124 Metres


Image Source – Twitter


The M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru, which stands 934 metres above sea level, has seen five of the biggest sixes in IPL history. It is the highest of the IPL’s regular sites for hosting matches. A venue where Gayle blasted 175* off just 66 balls during his Gayle storm.

Most cricket fans would not expect to see Praveen Kumar’s name on a list of the biggest sixes in IPL history. With his RCB team in trouble at 78/6, the fast bowler demonstrated how to bat to some of the more experienced hitters in the lineup. In 2008, he was outstanding for RCB, saving the team from numerous dangers.

Against Rajasthan Royals, Praveen Kumar smacked Yusuf Pathan for a huge 124m six over long-on. He then landed a few more powerful punches on Shane Warne. RCB would go on to lose the game, but Praveen had at least given his team a target to bowl at and saved them from a humiliating defeat.


Number 5. Albie Morkel – 125 metres


Image Source – Twitter


So, who has hit the longest six in the league’s illustrious history? Albie Morkel, a former all-rounder, is the answer. It’s surprising that heavyweights like MS Dhoni and Chris Gayle didn’t make the top five. When Morkel was playing for Chennai Super Kings against the Deccan Chargers in the first season of the cash-rich tournament, he smashed a 125-meter six to Pragyan Ojha.

In the IPL, he is the only player to break the 125-meter barrier. Morkel’s explosive knock against RCB, when he smashed 28 runs off Virat Kohli’s over, is still fresh in fans’ minds. He was a fierce all-rounder who revelled in breaking free from his restraints and slamming the ball around the park.

Albie Morkel was one of CSK’s most capable finishers. In the 2008 auction, he was CSK’s second most costly pick. Morkel quickly established himself as an important member of the Chennai Super Kings. He frequently took the fresh ball and assumed the role of finisher.