Image Source - Twitter

IPL 2022 – Lucknow Super Giants vs Chennai Super Kings – Post match Stats

In Match 7 of IPL 2022 at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai, new franchise Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) upset defending champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by completing the fourth-highest successful run chase in the tournament’s history. LSG reached the CSK target of 211 in the final over, with overseas batsmen Quinton de Kock and Evin Lewis hammering fifties to seal a six-wicket victory for their side.

KL Rahul, the skipper, had previously won the toss and elected to field first. Andrew Tye replaced Mohsin Khan in LSG’s only alteration from their previous match. Moeen Ali, Dwaine Pretorius, and Mukesh Choudhary all found a place in the CSK line-up in place of the three Kiwi players from the previous game. Robin Uthappa smashed a half-century off just 25 deliveries, while Moeen Ali and Shivam Dube each scored 35 and 49 runs. MS Dhoni and captain Ravindra Jadeja guided CSK to a mammoth 210 at the conclusion.

Chasing a mammoth mark, Rahul scored 40 runs off 26 balls, while wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock amassed 61 runs off 45 deliveries. Manish Pandey disappointed yet again with his second straight single-digit score. Evin Lewis then took control with the quickest fifty of this IPL, off only 23 balls, while teenager Ayush Badoni impressed once again with a cameo of 19 off just nine balls, including two sixes. Evin Lewis was named Player of the Match for his match-winning whirlwind half-century.

Here is a run down of the major milestones that were reached at the end of this match –

MS Dhoni reached the milestone of 7000 runs in T20s. He became India’s sixth player to accomplish the feat.

With 171 wickets, Dwayne Bravo passed Lasith Malinga (170) to become the IPL’s all-time leading wicket-taker.

Evin Lewis blasted the IPL’s quickest half-century (23 balls). Sanju Samson and Robin Uthappa both reached the landmark off 25 balls.

CSK (210/7) scored their best score in the IPL at the Brabourne Stadium. Their previous best was 180/2 in a 2010 match against the Mumbai Indians (MI).

Lucknow Super Giants successfully chased down the fourth highest total in IPL history.

For the third straight season, Ruturaj Gaikwad had two single-digit scores in both of his first two matches.

KL Rahul and Quinton de Kock authored the IPL’s second-highest partnership (99). At the top are Faf du Plessis and Virat Kohli, who amassed 118 runs against PBKS.