Lasith Malinga congratulates Dwayne Bravo on becoming the IPL’s all-time highest wicket-taker

In the match between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Lucknow Super Giants (LSG), veteran and Caribbean all-rounder Dwayne Bravo passed Mumbai Indians (MI) pacer Lasith Malinga to become the IPL’s leading wicket-taker. He tied Malinga’s record on the opening day of the league with his 170th wicket and added his 171st in the second match to complete the feat.

Malinga was the type of bowler that every hitter despised. He honed the technique of bowling yorkers. Bravo, on the other hand, has been a finisher for his side, despite his mastery of the death overs bowling variation. Both have advanced significantly and are now kings of their own forms.

On Thursday evening, when the LSG vs CSK match concluded, Malinga took to Twitter to congratulate Bravo on the achievement. He said: “Bravo is a CHAMPION Congratulations on becoming the highest wicket-taker in IPL history mate @DJBravo47. More to go young man! #IPL2022”

Bravo has won the Purple Cap twice in the IPL’s 15-year history. He was the greatest wicket-taker in 2013 and 2015, however CSK lost both finals against MI.