Image Source - Twitter

IPL 2022 – 3 Incredible Knocks in IPL History that unfortunately ended up in a losing cause

The Indian Premier League 2022 kicked off on March 26. (Saturday). In the previous season’s finals, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), kicked off the 15th season. The competition is now divided into two virtual groups of five teams each for the first time.

The division was based on a seeding system based on the number of titles won and finals played. Not to mention the addition of two more clubs, the Lucknow Super Giants and the Gujarat Titans, making the IPL a ten-team league.

Meanwhile, every season features some spectacular knocks, some of which, sadly, do not result in a win. Despite their valor and lionhearted courage, these batters’ efforts have occasionally been in vain. As a consolation, they do earn praise for their performances and in this article, we are going to recap three of the most incredible knocks in IPL History that unfortunately ended up in a losing cause.


Number 3. Wriddhiman Saha’s 115 against the Kolkata Knight Riders (IPL 2014)


Image Source – Twitter


Wriddhiman Saha had joined the party just days after Suresh Raina’s heroics where he scored 87 runs in a losing cause against the Kings XI Punjab. Saha very likely played the best innings of his career in the Punjab team’s inaugural IPL final. After losing the toss, KXIP batted first and got off to a slow start.

Both the captain (George Bailey) and the centurion (Virender Sehwag) from the previous game were back in the pavilion after the first five overs. With the score at 30/2, Saha joined the in-form Manan Vohra to help consolidate the innings. Following that, both hitters bravely created a 129-run stand in the next 12 overs.

Saha, in particular, hit eight sixes and ten fours in his undefeated 115. Even Sunil Narine and Morne Morkel leaked runs at a 10 economy rate. Saha’s unbeaten innings aided Punjab’s total of 199 runs.

In response, KKR crossed the line with three balls to spare. The Purple Army had Manish Pandey to seal the deal, similar to Saha’s stunning innings. Eventually, the Knight Riders won their second IPL title in 2014.


Number 2. MS Dhoni’s 84 against the Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL 2019


Image Source – Twitter


MSD was CSK’s best middle-order hitter from IPL 2017 to IPL 2019. Captain Cool used to promote himself in order to direct the innings. However, in the 2019 match against RCB, the skipper had to practically single-handedly steer CSK’s stuttering run chase. The yellow army limited the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) to 161 runs by making them bat first. Bangalore posted a respectable score thanks to wicketkeeper Parthiv Patel’s half-century. When the Yellow Army batted in response, their top four batters were dismissed cheaply with only 28 runs on the board.

Dhoni decided to bat deep in order to rebuild the innings, and he formed an important combination with Ambati Rayudu. MSD kept CSK’s pursuit alive till the final over, even with the support of the lower middle-order. Despite this, with 26 runs needed off the final over, RCB were favourites to win, with international pacer Umesh Yadav scheduled to bat.

A nail-biting finale was on the cards after striking the opening three balls for two sixes and a four. CSK needed just two runs off the final delivery with the penultimate ball going for a maximum.

Despite this, RCB’s tantrum did not cost them the game, as MSD missed his cut outside off. Umesh Yadav’s off-cutter created a dot-ball, and the non-striker was run-out while swiping a single. Overall, it was one of the few times when MSD went unbeaten (84* off 48 balls) and CSK lost.


Number 1. Sanju Samson’s 119 against the Punjab Kings in IPL 2021


Image Source – Twitter


Sanju Samson’s battling knock was one of the greatest of IPL 2021. The Punjab Kings (PBKS) took against the Rajasthan Royals in the tournament’s opening match. PBKS got off to a flying start after electing to bowl first. At 89/2, skipper KL Rahul and Deepak Hooda combined for a 105-run stand. With both players striking cleanly, PBKS posted a magnificent target of 222.

In reaction, both Ben Stokes and Manan Vohra were removed cheaply as RR began their innings. Jos Buttler, the explosive hitter, was removed for 70 runs. Samson stitched two partnerships with 152 runs to go to win. With the intention of batting until the end, the skipper then burst in the final few overs.

Samson scored 36 of the remaining 42 runs in just 14 balls by single-handedly controlling the chase. However, he was unable to accompany the squad home. He was caught out on the final pitch with the team needing five runs to win. Seven sixes and twelve fours were hit by the centurion (119 off 63 balls). Despite the loss, Samson was named Player of the Match for his outstanding performance.