MS Dhoni resigns as CSK captain; Ravindra Jadeja takes over

The fifteenth season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) will begin on March 26 with a match between reigning champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR). MS Dhoni has resigned as CSK’s captain before the debut match. Ravindra Jadeja, who was retained by the club for INR 16 crore, has been named CSK skipper.

CSK’s official website verified the news, but more information is pending. Jadeja is just the third captain of CSK in the IPL’s history, the others being Suresh Raina and MS Dhoni. Jadeja has been a part of the franchise since 2012 and has only played for another organization in the 2016 and 2017 editions when CSK was suspended.

This is also the first time CSK will be captained by a player other than Dhoni on a full-time basis, indicating that Dhoni is preparing the franchise to move on from him. Although it is unknown whether this will be his final season, he will wear the yellow jersey for the first time as a player.