Updated ICC World Test Championship 2021-23 Points Table Following India’s Second Test Match Against Sri Lanka

India National Cricket Team defeated Sri Lanka National Cricket Team by 238 runs in the second Test match of the two-match Test series to earn 12 vital ICC World Test Championship (WTC) points.

The pink-ball Test match between India’s Rohit Sharma and Sri Lanka’s Dimuth Karunaratne was played at Bengaluru’s M Chinnaswamy Stadium. The bowlers of both teams and alone batsman, Shreyas Iyer, dominated Day 1 of the pink-ball Test match. Iyer scored 92 runs off 98 balls on a difficult batting surface, including ten stunning fours and four magnificent sixes.

India scored 252 runs because of an incredible effort by Iyer and solid performances by Hanuma Vihari and Rishabh Pant.

Sri Lanka’s first innings were opened by Kusal Mendis and Dimuth Karunaratne, while India’s first innings were launched by Jasprit Bumrah. Bumrah bowled an excellent first over and then dispatched Kusal Mendis for a duck in his second over.

Bumrah dismissed Lahiru Thirimanne for eight in the fifth over of the innings, while Mohammed Shami castled Sri Lanka’s skipper with a stunning delivery in the sixth over. Dhananjaya de Silva and Angelo Mathews shared a 14-run stand before Dhananjaya de Silva was bowled in the 12th over by Mohammed Shami.

Sri Lanka scored 50 runs in 15.5 overs. Sri Lanka lost Charith Asalanka’s wicket at 50. Senior batsman Angelo Mathews was also dismissed after making 43 runs off 85 balls, and Sri Lanka was 86/6 at stumps on Day 1.

Sri Lanka resumed their fight against India’s world-class bowling squad on Day 2. Sri Lanka lost Lasith Embuldeniya’s wicket in the 33rd over and achieved 100 runs in 33.5 overs. Sri Lanka then lost three quick wickets in the form of Suranga Lakmal, Niroshan Dickwella, and Vishwa Fernando, and was swept out for 109 runs in 35.5 overs.

While openers Rohit Sharma and Mayank Agarwal added only 9 runs in the first innings, they put up a 42-run stand off 64 balls in the second innings before the latter was removed by Lasith Embuldeniya in the 11th over.

Rohit Sharma and Hanuma Vihari batted exceptionally effectively against the Sri Lankan bowlers, combining for 56 runs off 119 balls. India skipper Rohit was unlucky to fall just four runs short of a half-century as he was removed for 46 runs by Dhananjaya de Silva.

Praveen Jayawickrama dismissed Hanuma Vihari in the 34th over, and India’s No. 3 managed only 35 runs off 79 balls, including four fours. Jayawickrama also dismissed former India captain Virat Kohli in the 36th over, after the latter scored 13 runs off 16 balls, including one boundary.

Meanwhile, Rishabh Pant smashed a half-century in Test cricket, becoming the fastest Indian to do so. He reached half a century in just 28 balls, breaking Kapil Dev’s previous mark of 30 balls.

Praveen Jayawickrama dismissed Rishabh Pant on the final delivery of the 42nd over. Pant scored 50 runs off 31 balls and his innings featured seven fours and two incredible sixes. Then, Shreyas Iyer and Ravindra Jadeja combined for an incredible 66 runs until Jadeja was dismissed by Vishwa Fernando and Iyer was dismissed by Embuldeniya. Additionally, Axar Patel and Ravichandran Ashwin were out early, and India declared at 303/9, setting Sri Lanka a massive 447-run mark.

Chasing the target, Lahiru Kumara was bowled in the first over by Jasprit Bumrah, and Sri Lanka was 28/1 in 7.0 overs at stumps on Day 2.

On Day 3 of the pink-ball Test match against India, the Sri Lanka National Cricket Team got off to a strong start. Dimuth Karunaratne and Kusal Mendis battled brilliantly against the Indian bowling line, adding 97 runs off 115 balls before Mendis was bowled by Ravichandran Ashwin. Mendis scored 54 off 60 balls, including eight fours. Sri Lanka lost experienced Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, and Charith Asalanka in fast succession.

Finally, skipper Dimuth Karunaratne struck a magnificent century, but it was insufficient to enable Sri Lanka to win the match. And with the support of the Indian bowling unit’s complete dominance, Rohit Sharma and co. won the match to take a 2-0 lead in the two-match series.

As the dust settles, this is how the teams stand in the World Test Championships


Image Source – Twitter