Image Source - Twitter

These are the 5 biggest victories in IPL History

The IPL has been entertaining us all for more than a decade and through the course of the various seasons, we have witnessed some insane scorelines, run chases, and wins. Some of these matches may not have had a championship-winning incentive, but the sheer level of cricket on display have left their mark on peoples’ minds forever. In this article, we are going to take a look back at the 5 biggest victories in IPL history and hopefully refresh your memories and get the hype going for the upcoming season.

Number 5 – IPL 2013 – Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Pune Warriors – RCB won by 130 runs

This match will be remembered for one of the greatest knocks ever played in Twenty20 cricket. Chris Gayle scored 175 runs off 66 deliveries, including 17 sixes and 13 fours, to help Royal Challengers Bangalore reach a huge total of 263/5 in 20 overs. It was an impossible situation for the Pune squad to overcome with their batting as they could only muster a total of 133/9, losing the match by 130 runs.


Image Source – Twitter


Number 4 – IPL 2015 – Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kings XI Punjab – RCB won by 138 runs

Chris Gayle, the so-called “universe ruler,” delivered a masterpiece inning during this game as well. In this game, RCB scored 226/3 in their first innings, thanks in large part to Gayle’s 117-run scorching performance, which included 12 sixes and seven fours in the process. AB de Villiers made a significant contribution with the bat as well, hitting 47 runs off only 24 balls. Following this target, the Punjab team was completely destroyed for just 88 runs in 13.4 overs, and they went on to lose by an innings and fourteen runs.


Image Source – Twitter


Number 3 – IPL 2008 – Kolkata Knight Riders vs Royal Challengers Bangalore – KKR won by 140 runs

With a blistering 158 runs off 73 balls in the first match of the inaugural season of the Indian Premier League, Brendon McCullum lit the stage on fire. A total of 222/3 was posted by Kolkata Knight Riders in their first innings, and Royal Challengers Bangalore had a poor day with the bat, reaching only 82 runs in their response. After winning the opening match by 140 runs, Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) got their season off to a flying start.


Image Source – Twitter


Number 2 – IPL 2016 – Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Gujarat Lions – RCB won by 144 runs

Fans of cricket got to enjoy witnessing two greats, Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers, indulge themselves by slamming fours and sixes for the fun of it. Both of them scored hundreds, with RCB posting a total of 248/3 from 20 overs. In contrast, Virat Kohli scored 109 runs off 55 balls, while AB de Villiers hit an astonishing 129 runs off only 52 balls, with the help of 12 sixes and ten fours in the process. When faced with a big goal of 249 runs, the Gujarat squad was unable to compete at all, and they were eventually dismissed for 104 runs, resulting in a 144-run defeat.


Image Source – Twitter


Number 1 – IPL 2017 – Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Daredevils – MI won by 146 runs

With their first innings score of 212/3 in this 2017 IPL encounter, the Mumbai Indians set a high standard for other teams to follow. Lendl Simmons and Kieron Pollard both had significant contributions for them, scoring over 60 runs at a reasonable strike rate between them. Chasing this target, the Delhi side was bowled out for just 66 runs, resulting in a 146-run loss in the match. This is the largest margin of victory by runs in the history of the Indian Premier League. When it came to the bowling attack, Harbhajan Singh and Karn Sharma each picked up three wickets to completely decimate Delhi’s batting lineup.


Image Source – Twitter


We are all set to witness the ten teams go head to head in the new edition of the IPL and we can’t wait to see what’s in store for the fans this year.