England select a 12-man squad for the first Test, with Ollie Robinson ruled out

England revealed their 12-man squad for their first Test against the West Indies on Monday (March 7), which begins on Tuesday at Antigua’s Sir Vivian Richards Stadium. Due to the fact that this is England’s first Test assignment since their terrible 0-4 Ashes campaign, Joe Root’s players will be determined to establish themselves. Notably, the national selectors have made some significant decisions, with veteran pacers James Anderson and Stuart Broad also on the chopping block for this series.

Rory Burns and Haseeb Hameed, both underperforming openers, were also dropped. Alex Lees has been added to the squad for the first Test and will open with Zak Crawley. The 28-year-old, who is a prolific run-scorer for Durham, performed admirably in the practice match against the West Indies Cricket Board President’s XI, scoring 65 and 10 runs in two innings. Crawley, who scored 62 and 34 in the encounter, would also be eager to make an impression.

Joe Root, the skipper, will now bat at number three and will be expected to make his bat speak. Dan Lawrence has pipped Ollie Pope to the number four spot with scores of 83 and 48 in the warm-up game. Ben Stokes, Jonny Bairstow, and Ben Foakes will follow him. Notably, Bairstow will bat as a specialist, while Foakes will wear the gloves.

England’s squad for the Test against West Indies: Joe Root (c), Jonny Bairstow, Zak Crawley, Ben Foakes (wk), Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Alex Lees, Saqib Mahmood, Craig Overton, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, and Mark Wood.