KL Rahul and Axar Patel ruled out of T20I series against West Indies

India vice-captain KL Rahul and all-arounder Axar Patel have been ruled out of the upcoming T20I series against West Indies in Kolkata. The BCCI has named Ruturaj Gaikwad and Deepak Hooda as replacements.

Rahul sustained an upper left hamstring strain while fielding in the second ODI in Ahmedabad and will be needing time to recuperate. Axar, on the other hand, has resumed the “final stage of his rehabilitation” after recently recovering from Covid-19. Both the players will now head to the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru for further management.

India’s updated T20I squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Surya Kumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Ravi Bishnoi, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Mohd. Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Deepak Hooda.