New season of the Ranji Trophy to begin on February 10th

The Ranji Trophy will begin on February 10, with the first phase of the competition to be played until March 15. The second phase of the two-phase tournament will be held from May 30 to June 26.

According to the schedule and format released by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), there will be a total number of 64 matches to be played in 62 days across nine centers. Ahmedabad, Kolkata, Rajkot, Delhi, Guwahati, Cuttack, Trivandrum, Chennai, and a Haryana center will host the two-phase championship.

The 38 teams have been divided into nine groups – eight Elite groups of four teams each and one plate group of six teams. Chandigarh and Meghalaya have been directly placed in the Elite division.

As per the format, Elite teams in a group play against each other, while the Plate teams will clash with only three teams of their group. One team from each Elite group qualifies for the quarter-finals, barring one which will have to play a pre-quarter-final game. The lowest-ranked of the eight qualifiers of Elite teams will have to take on the top-ranked side of the Plate group in the pre-quarterfinals. The quarterfinals draw will be held after the pre-quarter-finals.

Key Features of New Ranji Trophy season

  • 38 teams will take part in 9 venues

  • Teams divided into 9 groups (8 Elite and 1 Plate)

  • Each Elite Group will have 4 teams and Plate will have 6 teams

  • In the league stage, each will play 3 games

  • One team from each Elite Group, barring one, qualifies for the quarterfinals

  • The lowest-ranked Elite team will play the highest-ranked Plate team in the pre-quarterfinals

  • The league stage will be from February 10 to March 15; knockouts from May 30 to June 26

  • The tournament will, overall, have 64 games to be played in 62 days

  • Ahmedabad, Rajkot, Delhi, Guwahati, Cuttack, Trivandrum, Chennai, Haryana and Kolkata are the venues