Bhuvneshwar Kumar faces the axe as BCCI announces ODI squad to face West Indies

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the Indian team squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against the West Indies which will be played from February 6 onwards at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Motera, Ahmedabad. The ODI squad sees ace fast bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar who could not make the most of the swing-friendly conditions in South Africa, where his nation lost the ODI series 0-3.

Meanwhile, Rohit Sharma passed his fitness test and will lead the Indian team in both ODIs and T20Is against the West Indies.

Also making his return to the Indian team after a lengthy layoff from injury and knee surgery is left-arm Chinaman bowler Kuldeep Yadav. The left-arm wrist spinner has not played any kind of competitive cricket for the last six months, but India is in dire need of wicket-taking options in the middle overs and he has a record of being just that.

21-year-old leggie Ravi Bishnoi will join Kuldeep, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Washington Sundar in the spin department.

Rajasthan’s hard-hitting batter Deepak Hooda has also been called up for the West Indies ODIs, thanks to a collective middle-order failure in South Africa and a lack of big hitters in the lower order.  Venkatesh Iyer was also dropped from the ODI squad, while Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, and Rishabh Pant retained their spots.